Don’t just do something, sit there

Hi everyone, today I’m blogging over at the International Bipolar Foundation on how hard it is to pull back from doing things which feed hypomania. You can read it at: http://www.internationalbipolarfoundation.org/don’t-just-do-something-sit-there 🙂

About purplepersuasion

40 something service user, activist, writer and mother living with bipolar disorder. Proud winner of the Mark Hanson Prize for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards #VMGMindAwards 2013. Winner of the World in Mentalists Mood Disorder blog 2012. Regular guest blogger for the International Bipolar Foundation http://www.internationalbipolarfoundation.org/ Expert by Experience working with Mind training department. Working on The Incoming Tide, a bipolar memoir. Find me on Twitter @BipolarBlogger or at my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/BipolarBlogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t just do something, sit there

  1. Lynnette Taylor says:

    I have Bipolar 2 Disorder and am currently in the latter stages of therapy. I’m suppose to be in the normal level (stable) of Bipolar, which is ok but is a bit boring and very bland. I haven’t had many highs, just many lows. Lots of depression and destruction. There are parts of the stable level to like, but I’m left wondering is this the best it gets? Surely being normal is suppose to be more exciting. Anyway, a question for you is; Has your psychiatrist mentioned to you that once you get to a stable level that you could cure your own Bipolar? Mine said a fortnight ago that I could be able to cure mine. Which I believed at first, but now am not so convinced. What are your thoughts on this?

    • Hi Lynnette,

      I have NEVER heard of anyone believing or saying that bipolar can be cured. Managed, yes. I suppose I am at a similar place to you, I am finally (after 18 months) getting levelled out on medication and am able to sit on my hypomanias so they don’t take over or develop into true mania – all of which can feel rather bland if you are used to the excitement of hypos. But I would say that in my previous 8 year remission life was actually very exciting. For the first time I was able to excel and progress in a career, pursue my hobbies, and develop better friendships and a healthier relationship, precisely because I wasn’t being yanked around by moods. Only when I was symptom free was I able to live the life I believe I was meant to, to be the real me. But even though I was very well for that very long period I was NOT cured. In fact, even entertaining the idea that I might have been contributed to my worst episode for a decade; I had stopped looking after myself due to feeling that my mental health problems were in the past, took on too much stress, and bingo, breakdown, lengthy sick leave, job lost. General speaking, bipolar (although perhaps especially bipolar I) is regarded as a lifelong, incurable condition, which will require lifelong management. And after an awful episode lasting over 2 years, there is no way I would ever again think that I could be “cured”.

Leave a Reply

