GUEST POST: Awakening

Hello, Golden Ink again. Been dithering on writing this post but wanted to follow up my last post.

Winter was difficult, I had to fight to get seen by doctors when I was feeling my lowest but eventually I was diagnosed with Bipolar Affective Disorder on 30th January this year.

I’m Grace Wong, a freelance journalist and photographer and I’m blowing my cover as that protective anonymity was never meant to be permanent and I tweeted on Time to Talk on February 6th once I’d had distance and space and felt strong enough to be able to do it, you can read the tweets here.

Want to thank those of you who read my post and those comments. Hoping you are all taking small steps in your own personal journeys wherever they end up leading you. Mostly, I hope in the direction you want to go.

Charlotte and I had some background discussions last year and when I was going through this at the time and she offered me the space here to write anonymously which I couldn’t do on my own blog. Thank you so much Charlotte. Stigma is rife, especially in my very competitive industries and I didn’t want to be pegged just as a first person mental health journalist, after all, I want to have flexibility and chances to write about other things.

However, despite this, I am happy to chip away at that monolithic beast called Stigma as I can and do talk and write honestly.

Lamotrigine is the drug I’ve been prescribed and it is working wonders, there are some niggling side effects but I hope they fade as the dose gets closer to the therapeutic range.

Keeping this post short, it was hard to write one already which has gone up on my blog, please read if you’re compelled to and thank you all for reading and for the kindness of this lovely community.

Follow Grace at @GraceWongPhoto

 

 

Links:

https://twitter.com/GraceWongPhoto

http://gracewongphotography.co.uk/2/post/2014/03/autumn-winter-mind-catalogue.html

About purplepersuasion

40 something service user, activist, writer and mother living with bipolar disorder. Proud winner of the Mark Hanson Prize for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards #VMGMindAwards 2013. Winner of the World in Mentalists Mood Disorder blog 2012. Regular guest blogger for the International Bipolar Foundation http://www.internationalbipolarfoundation.org/ Expert by Experience working with Mind training department. Working on The Incoming Tide, a bipolar memoir. Find me on Twitter @BipolarBlogger or at my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/BipolarBlogger
This entry was posted in Mental health, Stigma and discrimination and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GUEST POST: Awakening

  1. Pingback: Rebounding From Mental Illness Requires Strength and Patience | Emotional Sobriety: Friends & Lovers

Leave a Reply

