There are worse things I could do…

There are worse things I could do
Than to gain a stone or two,
Though I know it’s likely more
To be three, or maybe four
There is one thing that is true:
There are worst things I could do.

I could ditch those pesky meds
Leave my mental health in shreds,
So what’s sitting on my plate
Will not cause excessive weight.
But you know, I’ve thought it through,
And that’s a thing I just won’t do.

I could find some other way
Of surviving every day.
I could drink or I could steal,
Find some new way not to feel,
But if food can get me through
Then what the hell is that to you?

[saxophone break]

I could count each calorie
Hoping that will set me free,
Let my bathroom scales decide
If I dare to go outside,
Hiding from the likes of you.
But that’s not something I will do.

I could scorn someone like me,
Make my loathing plain to see,
Say she has to learn that fat
Isn’t pretty to look at
And offends the public view,
But that’s a thing I’d never do.

You may want me to oblige,
Hate myself over my size,
Agree that I have no self-worth
With this cup size and this girth,
But I’ve learned that isn’t true.
There are much worse things I could do.

About purplepersuasion

40 something service user, activist, writer and mother living with bipolar disorder. Proud winner of the Mark Hanson Prize for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards #VMGMindAwards 2013. Winner of the World in Mentalists Mood Disorder blog 2012. Regular guest blogger for the International Bipolar Foundation http://www.internationalbipolarfoundation.org/ Expert by Experience working with Mind training department. Working on The Incoming Tide, a bipolar memoir. Find me on Twitter @BipolarBlogger or at my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/BipolarBlogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to There are worse things I could do…

  1. tigtigs says:

    Charlotte, this is lovely, so clever and witty. I quite agree with you on all this! xx

  2. Ruth says:

    Lovely… and I must admit I sang along to it myself while reading 🙂

  3. A.M. Simpson says:

    Let medicine be you food and food be your medicine! or something like that 🙂

  4. Abby Boid says:

    Utterly brilliant. Loved the saxophone break!

  5. Nina says:

    I loved that song already, and probably just a little more now. Brilliantly done!

  6. Sam Candour says:

    I can’t tell you how much I love this!

  7. norfolkgirl says:

    Brilliant Charlotte!

  8. Henry Dunn says:

    Perhaps I could set it to music, and provide the sax solo! Could be a viral number one. Excellent words.

  9. Lindsay says:

    So brilliant! I am about to change my meds to Remeron (?) which is apparently a real ‘fatty’ so thank you, I can relate!

  10. Henry Dunn says:

    It could probably do with a new version though

  11. TQ says:

    Thank you for this
    So true, I was singing it as I read it.
    Wish more was known and discussed about side effects
    When friends on chemotherapy given prn for movicol and told to expect fuzzy thinking and fatigue, yet not for psychiatric medications
    Friend recently burst bowel from constipation with overflow symptoms from increase dose of psychiatric meds. It should be explained

Leave a Reply

