NEW VLOG! “Like the difference between eating a biscuit and a delicious gateau.”

People often asked me how I know when I am hypomanic. How do I distinguish between normal happiness and something more pathological? It can be a difficult question to answer, especially as everyone’s experience will be a little different.

Last Friday I was feeling very hypomanic, so I recorded my thoughts….

About purplepersuasion

40 something service user, activist, writer and mother living with bipolar disorder. Proud winner of the Mark Hanson Prize for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards #VMGMindAwards 2013. Winner of the World in Mentalists Mood Disorder blog 2012. Regular guest blogger for the International Bipolar Foundation http://www.internationalbipolarfoundation.org/ Expert by Experience working with Mind training department. Working on The Incoming Tide, a bipolar memoir. Find me on Twitter @BipolarBlogger or at my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/BipolarBlogger
This entry was posted in Mental health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NEW VLOG! “Like the difference between eating a biscuit and a delicious gateau.”

  1. Thank you for all your posts. It really helps me not feel all alone, and helps me when I start wondering if I’m just making it all up and therefore wanting to go off my meds. I’ve lost too much from giving in to that line of thinking to let it happen again.

    • I do that too! When I am remotely well I start to think, was there really anything THAT wrong with me? That’s where blogging and vlogging are not just therapeutic for me, they also give me a reality check when I look back.

  2. fiona mackenzie says:

    I
    I really find your blog useful as a person who has a bipolar disorder and also treat people with bipolar disorder as a psychiatrist. The insighful and detailed way you describe your experiences helps me to be alert for similar things happening to me or my patients. I have not seen your video because it is blocked on my work PC. Hope to watch it latter at home,

    best wishes

    Fiona

    • Hi Fiona, you are Fiona from Twitter, right? 🙂 I hope you can watch it later and that you like it, you may also be interested in the previous one about all the myriad meds I take and how I feel about that too! xx

  3. Great insightful video! Hope you conquer this and inspire others.
    Thanks to your partner too.
    Cheers!

  4. Pingback: A thousand little indignities: what it means to be “a service user” | purplepersuasion

  5. shannonawalton says:

    I really appreciate the work you do here! I can relate to so much of what you share in this video and in your blog in general. It is empowering to hear someone speak openly about the things that we are so often taught to hide or keep quiet about. Thanks!

    • Thank YOU for your kind feedback! I’m still pretty new at the video stuff but sometimes I just think it can be more powerful than the written word for particular topics 🙂

  6. Emma says:

    I am a first time visitor to your brilliant blog and have just watched this vlog also. This articulate explanation of bipolar has really helped me to understand about my (now) ex-partner’s behaviour to a large extent. I am ashamed to say I Struggled to stay the course with him as I did not know he was bipolar and his erratic, uncaring and odd behaviour confused and hurt me as a result. I worry for him now, even though he is with someone else, as I am aware he will crash any time soon? If only I had found your great blog sooner! However, enough about me, just wanted to say congratulations on recording all this and making me aware of this difficult condition. I am now going to follow you on Twitter. Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

